CARA Board


CARA Board Roster (revised May 16, 2019)

CARA Executive Officers

Nan Brasmer, California School Employees Association (CSEA), PRESIDENT
Louis Duran, East San Gabriel Valley Democratic Club, TREASURER
Dawn Bronsema, Hubert Humphrey Democratic Club, SECRETARY

Vice Presidents (9-20 Unions with largest CARA membership)

Addie Brinkley, Communications Workers of America District 9
Wayne Ihrig, Machinists Retirees
Camille Christian, SEIU 2015
Daniel Prince, District Council of Ironworkers CA/Vicinity
Editha Adams, UDW AFSCME 3930
Hene Kelly, California Federation of Teachers Retired
Kathryn Donahue, California Nurses Association
Marilyn Albert, National Union of Healthcare Workers
Mary Rose Ortega, United Teachers Los Angeles Retired
Michael Scafani, IBEW
Mike Fursman, UFCW8-Golden State
Nadine Peyrucain, AFSCME State Council
Pauline Brooks, Service Employees International Union Local 1021
Richard Benson, UFCW Western States Council
Robert Turner, Teamsters Joint Council 42
Patricia Ryan, California Teachers Association/National Education Association Retired
Stephanie Hueg, California State Retirees

Vice Presidents (4 seats, appointed by Art Pulaski, California Labor Federation)

Joan Braconi, Service Employees International Union Retired (SEIU Retired)
Margaret Shelleda, California Federation of Teachers (CFT)
Ramon Castellblanch, California Labor Federation (CLF)
Tom Rankin, California Labor Federation (CLF)

Vice Presidents (9-20 seats elected by Community Based Organizations)

David H. Williams, San Francisco Living Wage Coalition
Diana Madoshi, Villa Seniors Network
Donna Meredith, SEIU Local 721 Seniors
Frances Smith, Yolo Healthy Aging Alliance
Gayle Chenoweth, Rancho Bernardo Democratic Club
Jacquetta Alexander, Easter Hill Methodist Church
Janie Whiteford, California IHSS Consumer Alliance
Juanita Barbarin, SEIU Retired
Kathie Piccagli, Older Women’s League
Kris Organ, CA Civil Rights Law Group
Mary Alice Sedillo, Democratic Women’s Study Group
Michael Lyon, Gray Panthers-San Francisco
Michael Nye, West County Democratic Club
Michelle Krug, San Diego Labor Democratic Club
Myrtle Braxton-Ellington, Richmond Commission on Aging
Pat Stanyo, Gray Panthers of Long Beach
Ronnie Kinney, Democratic Club Central Orange Co
Sandra Johnson, West Oakland Senior Center

Vice Presidents at-Large (Appointed as needed by Executive Committee)

Bernice Bonillas, Kern Inyo Central Labor Council
William Wallace, Retired Public Employees Association (RPEA)